126 E 66 Street is memorable for its Roman brick arches and massive wood doors. The picturesque three-story residence is directly across the street from the Seventh Regiment Armory (aka Park Avenue Armory), built 17 years prior.
According to NYC Landmarks Preservation Commission research, the building “Replaced a rowhouse built in the 1870’s. Built as a stable, coach house, and residence for coachman’s family. Henry 0. Havemeyer, who commissioned the stable, lived at 1 East 66th Street. After its completion, he sold it to Oliver H. Payne, brother-in-law of William C. Whitney.” The building was sold to John Hay Whitney and at this writing is still in the Whitney family.
An article in Curbed NY points out that the building is only a remnant of the original structure. As built, the coach house and stables extended to the site of 122-124 E 66 Street.
Havemeyer, who commissioned the building, was the prominent Domino Sugar magnate for whom the Brooklyn Street is named.
126 E 66 Street Vital Statistics
- Location: 126 E 66 Street between Park and Lexington Avenues
- Year completed: 1895
- Architect: William J Wallace and S.E. Gage
- Floors: 3
- Style: Romanesqu Revival
- New York City Landmark: 1981 (Upper East Side Historic District)
126 E 66 Street Recommended Reading
- Wikipedia entry (Henry Osborne Havemeyer)
- NYC Landmarks Preservation Commission designation report (Upper East Side Historic District, Vol. 1, page 315)
- Street Easy NY listing
- Emporis database
- Curbed NY blog